Phil Smith, CBE, BSc, Hon LLD, DUniv., CEng, FIET
Chairman and Non-Executive Director 

Phil Smith, CBE, BSc, Hon LLD, DUniv. FIET, became Chairman of Cisco for the UK and Ireland in August 2016, after eight years as Chief Executive. Mr Smith is also the Chairman of Innovate UK and Chairman of the Tech Partnership. Additionally, he sits on the Board of the National Centre for Universities and Business (NCUB). Mr Smith has a thirty- five year track record in the technology industry in leading companies including Philips Electronics and IBM. As Chief Executive and now Chairman of Cisco, he leads around 5,500 people in the UK and Ireland. He created Cisco’s British Innovation Gateway (BIG) programme, as a legacy of London 2012 to spark nationwide ingenuity, ambition and growth through technology entrepreneurship. In September 2014 he was awarded an Honorary Doctorate by Birmingham City University, cited for his outstanding contribution to the IT industry, a “leader among leaders”. In March 2015 Mr Smith was awarded an Honorary Degree of Doctor of Laws by the University of Warwick and in 2016 an Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science by his alma mater, Glasgow University.


Dr Andrew W Nelson OBE, BSc, PhD, FREng
President and Chief Executive Officer

Dr Drew Nelson has over 30 years experience in the semiconductor industry in a variety of research and managerial positions. Following a PhD in Semiconductor Physics, he joined BT Research Laboratories in 1981, leading the group responsible for the development of advanced optoelectronic devices for optical fibre communications. He subsequently managed the technology transfer from BT to Agilent for mass production. He co-founded EPI in 1988 (which became IQE in 1999) and was appointed Chief Executive Officer of IQE Plc in April 1999. Dr Nelson has held several Non-Executive Directorship appointments, and served on several Government and Industry bodies. He received an OBE in 2001 for services to the Electronics Industry. He is currently a member of the High Level Group appointed by the EC to oversee the implementation of Key Enabling Technologies (KETs) throughout Europe.


Tim Pullen
Chief Financial Officer  

Tim Pullen has joined IQE as the Chief Financial Officer in February 2019. Prior to this, Mr Pullen was the Chief Financial Official of Arm Limited, a global semiconductor and software design company owned by Softbank Group. Before joining Arm, he was Finance Director at O2 / Telefonica UK, where he held a variety of senior financial positions including responsibility for Technology Operations, B2B and Digital segments and Finance Operations. In connection with his time at O2, Mr. Pullen also held roles as a Non-Executive Director of Tesco Mobile, O2’s joint venture with Tesco Mobile, and was a Director of Cornerstone Telecommunications Infrastructure Limited, O2’s network sharing joint venture with Vodafone. Tim has also worked in a number of technology and services businesses, including Serco, Fujitsu and Dell. Mr Pullen is a Chartered Accountant and qualified with Ernst & Young.


Sir David Grant CBE PhD FREng FLSW CEng FIET
Non-Executive Director, Chair of Remuneration Committee, Chair of Nominations Committee

Sir David Grant has a background in engineering and technology and was appointed to the Board of IQE Plc in September 2012. He was Vice-Chancellor of Cardiff University from 2001 to 2012. Previously he held leadership positions in a number of international businesses including United Technologies Corp., Dowty Group plc and GEC plc. He has been a Vice-President of the IET, and was a Vice-President of the Royal Academy of Engineering from 2007 to 2012. He was awarded the IEE's Mensforth Gold Medal in 1996 and in 1997 he was made a CBE for his contribution to the UK's Foresight Programme. He has a PhD in Engineering Science from the University of Durham. Sir David was knighted in the 2016 Birthday Honours for services to engineering, technology, and skills.


Sir Derek Jones KCB
Non-Executive Director, Chair of Audit Committee

Sir Derek Jones KCB previously held the post of Permanent Secretary of the Welsh Government, responsible for a wide range of policy and operations including economic development, trade, investment, transport, education, science, health, social care, local government, energy and the environment. As Permanent Secretary he led an organisation with an annual budget of some £15 billion; and a staff of 5,000 located in Wales, London, Brussels, the USA, Middle East and Far East. He was also a member of the UK Civil Service Board and its Senior Leadership Committee. Sir Derek spent the earlier part of his government career in Whitehall, working at HM Treasury and the then Department for Trade & Industry, where he headed the Far East Trade Desk.  In government in Wales he has also served as Director of Finance and Director of Economic Affairs, during which time he was instrumental in securing major inward investment projects, particularly from Japan and the USA. Sir Derek is the Chair of the Prince's Trust in Wales, a Vice President of Cardiff Business Club and Chair the board of UK public transport operator Keolis. He was made Companion of the Order of the Bath (CB) in 2009 and subsequently Knight Commander (KCB) in 2014, for services to economic and social conditions.


Carol Chesney
Non-executive Director, Chair of Audit Committee

Mrs. Chesney, FCA, is an experienced Non-executive Director, currently serving as a Non-executive Director and Chair of the Audit Committee of Renishaw plc since October 2012, in addition to currently serving as a Non-executive Director and Chair of the Audit Committees of Hunting PLC since April 2018 and Biffa PLC since July 2018. Prior to this, Mrs. Chesney served as the Company Secretary of Halma PLC, the FTSE 100 health, safety and environmental technology group, until 2018, having also served as the Group Financial Controller. During her time at Halma PLC, Mrs. Chesney’s role included corporate governance, legal compliance, equity incentives, pensions, internal audit management, taxation, property, health and safety compliance, environmental reporting and anti-bribery and corruption compliance. Mrs. Chesney is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales, and qualified with Arthur Andersen in the UK.